Magical

Magical.

Can a garden center be described that way?  I think Terrain can be.  We stopped for a coffee in the cafe followed by a walk around.

Staghorn Fern

Staghorn Fern

With this guy hanging over our table, how could I not start thinking about Staghorn ferns?

First of all, Terrain is part of the Anthropologie organization so you know it’s going to be beautifully designed.  Although for a garden center, it’s pricey but it’s a great place to get inspired.  When you visit, you must include time for refreshments in the cafe.  From the linen napkins to the Ball jar glasses … it’s all good.  The cafe is within a refurbished green house that is so charming.  I’ve had dinner at this BYOB in the dead of winter.  It was cozy and there’s nothing better than dining under the glow of twinkling garden lights.

Magical, I tell you.

I love the cafe chairs.

I love the cafe chairs.

Vegetarian Trophy Wall

Vegetarian Trophy Wall

Love the reclaimed wood that makes up the privacy wall (separates the dining space from the kitchen).  When I saw the Staghorn ferns mounted on the reclaimed wood, the wheels started churning.  I could definitely find a nice piece of reclaimed wood.

Terrain does such an amazing job displaying merchandise.  Walking through the general merchandise ‘barn’ you’ll see all various vignettes displaying their wares.

Red chairs ...

Red chairs …

Ocular overload.

Ocular overload.

Farmhouse table fountain!

Farmhouse table fountain!

The problem with Terrain is that you start to think that you can actually create this magic at home so you start buying and hoping.  I went through a terrarium phase a couple years ago … which started during a visit.  Well, who could blame me:

Mini landscapes.

Mini magic landscapes.

Of course I can buy some mini plants, find a cool vessel at home, and create a mini magic landscape.  Oh how wrong I was.  Although the mini plants are ONLY $5 a piece … $5 a piece adds up VERY quickly and then there was the $20 cloche and $8 copper base dish.   Let’s just say that I did not create any mini magic landscape and then my mini plants grew up and were repotted into a boring terra cotta pot.  Sigh.

Well, guess who’s coming home with us courtesy of my mom?

A little bit of magic is coming home with us!

A little bit of magic is coming home with us!

Keep your fingers crossed that this time I can create a little magic at home.  I’m thinking about mounting our Staghorn fern on either reclaimed wood or a gnarled piece of drift wood or tree stump.  Fingers crossed that he’ll look as good as his siblings who were left behind.  This particular sibling (below) is $105 where as mine is $18.

Can I create this at home?

Can I create this at home?

The nursery portion of Terrain is pretty fabulous too.  I like to visit in spring for inspiration.  Although Terrain’s prices are too rich for our blood when it comes to landscaping our garden, it’s great to start here.  I would suggest creating your vision by walking through Terrain then jumping back on the road to Groff’s Plant Farm to actually buy the majority of the plants you’ll use.  Then return to Terrain for a few plants you just can’t find at Groff’s and that Home Depot would never carry.

Magical.

Magical.

I just love the way they mix vintage items into their displays.  Terrain, can I move in?

Who knew metal buckets could be magical?

Who knew metal buckets could be magical?

IMG_5423

The stylists at Terrain are definitely magical.

Leave a Reply

