Cooking 1.5 – Cucumber Salad

There’s a Revit ‘ranking’ system in my office.  Your Revit number is based on how proficient you are at using this CAD software.  Many people are 0’s as they don’t use the software.  Only two people are 5’s which means they are experts.  I hold the honor of being the ONLY 1.5.  Not a 1 but not a 2.

I’ve decided to carry this 1.5 ranking over to my cooking proficiency.  I’m starting with one of my favorite salads from a childhood spent with a German mother.   I’ve put my own spin on it though and use greek yogurt and white wine balsamic.

First, I like to get my mise en place:  largest of my vintage orange Pyrex mixing bowls, mandoline, 3 cucumbers, handful of fresh dill (about a half cup), 1 medium size Vidalia onion (I like the sweetness), 1 small container of plain Greek yogurt (5.3 oz or more, depending on how much dressing you want), Trader Joe’s white balsamic (the least expensive yet with a nice flavor), sea salt, fresh ground pepper, and sugar.

mise en place

Directions:   1.  Peel the cucumbers.  2.  Slice the cucumbers, using the mandoline, directly into the bowel.  I don’t mind the seeds so I just make super thin slices.  If you don’t like seeds then de-seed and slice or chop.  3.  add about 1/2 cup finely chopped Vidalia onion.

components

4.  in either a separate small bowl or large measuring cup (2 cup size) combine the Greek yogurt, finely chopped dill, 4 tablespoons white balsamic to start with, 2 teaspoons sugar, pinch of salt and pinch of pepper.  4.  taste the dressing with a clean spoon.  5.  adjust the amount of dill, white balsamic, sugar, salt and pepper to taste.  I usually keep adding, stirring, and tasting until I hit the sweet spot.  6.  add the dressing to the bowl with the cucumbers and onion.  7.  stir and taste a cucumber.  8.  you might need to fuss around with the seasonings a bit.  9.  transfer to a medium size container with a lid and put it in the refrigerator for a couple of hours to let the flavors process.

20130825_131337

You can definitely eat it right away but the longer you let it process, the better it will taste.

This is summer in a bowl.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

One thought on “Cooking 1.5 – Cucumber Salad

Leave a Reply

